Previous Article Next Article FNPI Search Home Previous Year Next Year Year List

Historic Casino Agreement Negotiated

SASKATCHEWAN INDIAN      FALL 1995      p19  
The foundation for a First Nations gaming industry was laid with the negotiation and acceptance of a gaming agreement with the province and a slot machine agreement with the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA) and the Western Canada Lottery Corporation (WCLC).

These two historic agreements combined, addressed the issues of jurisdiction, lotteries, casinos, Video lottery terminals and implementation and enforcement issues.

The FSIN takes the position that the First Nations have the right to self government which is confirmed by the Treaties, which includes full authority over gaming.

In relation to jurisdiction the FSIN and the Provincial Government agreed to work together and present proposals to the Federal government which will allow First Nations full jurisdiction over all forms of gaming on reserves.

The profits from the casinos will be divided up as follows: If the casino is on the reserve than 50% will go to the First Nations fund, 25% to First Nations charities and 25% will go to the Provincial Government.

The gaming agreement also recognizes the authority of the First Nations to regulate Bingos, lotteries and other forms of gaming on-reserve. All proceeds from these undertakings will be exclusive to the First Nations charities or sponsoring government body.

The agreement calls for the establishment of four First Nations casinos in addition to an option of one in Saskatoon. The people of Saskatoon had previously rejected casino site development in a municipal referendum.

The profits from video lottery terminals located on-reserve will be divided up with 85% going to the First Nations and 15% to the Provincial Government.

The slot machine agreement calls for the Western Canada Lottery Corporation to play a lead role in the procurement of the slot machines and the computor operating systems.

SIGA will then assume the operation of the computor system.

The Gaming Agreement was approved by the Chiefs Legislative Assembly February 9, 1995. The First Nations Gaming Act was passed June 7, 1995. In both cases the consent from the Chiefs was unanimous.

Members of the Gaming Commission

Chief Amanda Louison, Kahkewistahaw
Chief Wayne Standinghorn, Sweetgrass
Chief Richard Poorman, Kawacatoose
Chief Joe Fourhorns, Piapot
Chief Barry Ahenakew, Ahtahkakoop
Chief Henry Neapetung, Yellowquill
Chief Cyrus Standing, Wahpeton
Chief Terry Sanderson, James Smith
Chief Ron Thunder, Little Pine
Chief Pierre Settee, Cumberland House
Chief Harry Lafond, Muskeg Lake
Chief Felix Thomas, Kiniston
Chief Brian Standingready, White Bear
Chief Guy Lariviere, Canoe Lake
Vice-Chief Alphonse Bird, Prince Albert Grand Council
Vice-Chief O'Neil Gladue, Flying Dust
Tom Bear, Agency Chiefs Tribal Council
Bruce Standingready, South East Tribal Council
Perry Bellegarde, Touchwood, File Hills, Qu'Appelle
Tom McKenzie, Lac La Ronge