Previous Article Next Article FNPI Search Home Previous Year Next Year Year List

Lady Senators Appointed

SASKATCHEWAN INDIAN      DECEMBER 1976      v06 n12 p35  
The Federation of Saskatchewan Indians (F.S.I.) have their gentlemen senators and now the Saskatchewan Indian Women's Association (S.I.W.A.) have their lady Senators.

Eight ladies were appointed as lady senators during the last day of a three-day S.I.W.A. conference held recently at the Holiday Inn in Saskatoon.

The selection was made by the Executive and the Program Coordinators. The Program Coordinators were sent into the field and submit names of ladies whom they thought to be potential candidates. Also the Chiefs were sent a letter to recommend someone from their band.

The selection of these lady senators was based on their involvement and any contributions they might have made in the past. It may not necessarily have anything to do with politics, but rather much emphasis was and is still placed on the role of motherhood by these ladies.

As lady senators they will sit on the Advisory Board, and of course will have voting privileges also.

Each lady senator was presented with a beautiful shawl and a beaded medallion necklace in recognition of their appointment into the organization.

The oldest lady senator is 101 year old Martha Tawiyaka from Standing Buffalo in the Fort Qu'Appelle Valley. The other seven ladies are Marie Merasty on: Pelican Narrows; Anna Kingfisher, Sturgeon, Lake; Philomene Gamble from Beardys; Winona Frank, Little Pine; Eugenie Lavallee, Piapot; Rose Ewack, Whitebear Reserve and Marie Sinclair from Onion Lake Reserve.

It's about time our elderly women are recognized and given a seat in one of the provincial organizations. Some of these women have been active in the past locally as well as provincially and are still active in one thing or another.

Sitting, l-r: Marie Merasty,Winona Frank, Marie Sinclair. Standing, l-r: Anna Kingfisher, Josephine Gamble for mother Philomene,Eugenie Lavallee. Missing: Rose Ewack and Martha Tawiyaka.
Sitting, L-R: Angeline Roberts, Isabel McNab. Standing, L-R: Gladys Ironchild, Mrytle Goodvoice.