Previous Article Next Article FNPI Search Home Previous Year Next Year Year List

First Saskatchewan Indian Hockey Championship

SASKATCHEWAN INDIAN      APRIL 1971      v02 n04 p05  
Chief David Ahenakew of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indians dropped the puck to start the first Saskatchewan Indian Hockey Championship which will be remembered for a long time by both Indian and White hockey fans for its high calibre of hockey and sportsmanship.

The Indian people of Saskatchewan had something to be proud of that night, for they proved that they could organize themselves to host such sporting events on the provincial level. This event is one of the stepping stones to the organization of sporting activities on reserves which will then eventually lead to the North American Indian Games, which is the ultimate goal of the Indian people in Saskatchewan.

Somehow halfway through the game that night one got the feeling that the fans did not care who won the game, as to them it was an achievement that they were all very proud of and something that belonged to them alone.

Sandy Lake Chiefs Capture Indian Title

Four goals in the third period powered Sandy Lake Chiefs to an 8 - 5 win over Gordon's Reserve in the first Saskatchewan Indian Hockey Championship at the Prince Albert Kinsmen Arena before 700 fans Tuesday night, March 30th.

Sandy Lake advanced to the final when they downed Muskeg Lake in the northern final and Gordon's Reserve defeated Regina Natives in the southern final.

Scoring for Sandy Lake were Verne Johnson with a pair and singles were added by Milt Burns, Russell Ahenakew, Edgar Little, Fred Sasakamoose, Ray Ahenakew and Dale Burns.

Ed Bitternose and Moses Gordon scored twice each for the southern representatives and Dennis Pelletier added a single.

Gordon's Reserve held a 2 - 1 first period lead on goals by Bitternose and Pelletier while Milt Burns replied for Sandy Lake.

The second period ended with the teams deadlocked at 4 - 4. Scoring for Sandy Lake in the middle frame were Russell Ahenakew, Little and Johnson. Bitternose and Moses Gordon replied for Gordon's in the second period.

Sasakamoose, Johnson, Ray Ahenakew and Dale Burns notched singles for the winners in the third period while Moses Gordon rounded out the scoring for Gordon's Reserve.

Sandy Lake were assessed eight of 12 minor penalties called by referee Chuck Hargraves of Prince Albert. Sandy Lake out shot Gordon's 55 - 36 with 24 of those shots coming in the first period.

After falling behind in the first period the Chiefs came right back in the second period with the tying goal at 4:47 and took the lead for the first time in the game six minutes later.

The Chiefs only held on to the lead for two minutes but came back at the 14 minute mark to take a 4-3 lead only to have Gordon's even the score at 15:58 of the period.

The Chiefs owned the final period as they out-skated, out-hustled and outscored the southern winners. Sasakamoose, who played an outstanding game on the point for the Chiefs, ignited the third period explosion at 1:25 when he split the opposition's defense and beat David Cyr cleanly with a point blank shot.

At 7:05 Sandy Lake made it 6 - 4 and two minutes later upped their lead to 7 - 4. Gordon scored at 16:26 to narrow the Chiefs' lead to 7 - 5 but Dale Burns put the game on ice with two minutes remaining.

Hockey Hockey
Hockey Hockey
Hockey Hockey